Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 6th, 2007

I realized this thing when I got problem with my laptop’s cooling fans. I use both XP and Ubuntu. And for your information, I still use Pentium IV. The problem was the air tunnel was dirty, so the air circulation was not maximum.

 

When I used XP, I still can work for hours even with heavy programs.

When I worked with Ubuntu, I only can work for max 30 minutes. Especially, when I open few programs.

I could see from the temperatur indicator in Ubuntu Panel. It increased bit slowly until it automatically turn off.

Does Ubuntu need more source of CPU compare to windows XP?

 

I don’t think so. What I think is, in windows, all devices are supported with its original driver. Mean, all devices could work efficiently and use all its capability.

When, I work with Ubuntu, all devices worked with standard driver. Of course, it will need more sources from the CPU.

Well, that’s only what I think.

Do you think the same think with what I think?

 

 

Read Full Post »

Using Ubuntu in Zyrex Laptop

My laptop brand is Zyrex. It’s assambled in Jakarta, Indonesia. It is old but still powerfull for my daily duties.

Pentium IV, 512MB RAM, DVD ROM + CD writer, SiS AC97 Sound Controller, Modem SiSAC97 Modem Controller, Realtek Ethernet card, 15” screen, SiS VGA card, 2 USB, Firewire, PCMCIA and Card Reader for SMC, MSC, MMC, CFC and Sony Stick Duo.

 

When I run Ubuntu Live CD, all devices are recognized, include the Function Keys (for sound, brightness, projector, stand by, mute) except my Modem. It’s recognized but still can’t work. So, I just used an external modem. Compare to another brands (Acer, IBM, Toshiba, Fujitsu, HP) with the same features, it’s 300US cheaper at the time I bought it.

The problem is only the screen. It’s not strong enough. I think IBM is the most strongest one.

 

If you want to use Beryl with it, forget it. Because the VGA card is SIS and SIS doesn’t support Beryl, even the 3D effect.

 

taufanlubis@zyrex:~$ lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661FX/M661FX/M661MX Host (rev 11)

00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS AGP Port (virtual PCI-to-PCI bridge)

00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS963 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 14)

00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller

00:02.3 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] FireWire Controller

00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE]

00:02.6 Modem: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC’97 Modem Controller (rev a0)

00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC’97 Sound Controller (rev a0)

00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

00:03.2 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)

00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller

00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

00:0c.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter

taufanlubis@zyrex:~$

 

 

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers