Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 2nd, 2008

I bought Toshiba A205 because it has Intel 945 Intel Chipset and Intel Graphics Card which are compatible with Ubuntu with Compiz. The specification below is more than enough to run Gutsy with all its features.

Specification:

  • Processor : Inter Core Duo T2450

  • Ram : 1G

  • Hard disk : 120 GB

  • LCD : 15.4” WXGA

  • DVD : Super Multi Double Layer

  • Wireless : 802.11 a/b/g wireless LAN

  • CAM : Built in

  • Mic : Built in

  • Speaker : Harman Cardon

When I run Gutsy live CD, the ‘extra Visual Effects’ from System > Preferences > Appearance could run.

Then I found the problems which are:

NOT WORKING

  • No sound (Intel Sound Card still not supported by Ubuntu) (fixed with ALSA driver). You will surprise that my Sound Card works better with ALSA, louder and more clear compare to its original driver for Vista. The problem is I still can’t control the volume via my Volume Switch.

  • Built-in Mic

    Working with Skype 2.

  • No Modem

    I don’t need it anyway. I use LAN & Wireless LAN

  • No Web Cam

    Working with Skype 2 and aMSN.

  • Keyboard function keys.

    The only key function (Fn) that work are Fn+F10 and Fn+F11. That’s why I have problem when I try to use external screen or Projector. I found that there is a program named Keytouch can fix it. Unfortunetly, there is no module for A205 yet. I’ve tried to use module for another toshiba type but not working.

  • Multimedia buttons

  • Volume (When I tried first installation with ALSA driver, it didn’t work. But when I re-installed my Ubuntu and installed with the same ALSA driver, it works.)

  • VGA output

    Working. I’ve tested with few brands of Portable Projector.

WORKI/NG

  • Function key on Keyboard (Fn+F10 and Fn+F11)

  • Wireless LAN (restricted driver)

  • VGA card (rendering: NO), still can run compiz

  • USB

  • Ethernet card

  • Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)

  • DVD writer double layer.

MAYBE WORKING

  • Firewire

    Not try yet.

  • PCMCIA

    Not try yet.

  • S-Video output.

    Not try yet.

The information that I have from taufanlubis@toshiba:~$ lspci:

  • Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub

  • VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller

  • Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller

  • Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller

  • USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller

  • PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge

  • ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge

  • IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller

  • SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller

  • Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller

  • Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

  • CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller

  • FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller

  • Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)

  • Generic system peripheral [0805]: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller

As you’ve seen above, Ubuntu doesn’t recognize my modem. When I checked with aplay, it said that my modem is Si3054 Modem.

taufanlubis@toshiba:~$ aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****

card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]

Subdevices: 1/1

Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]

Subdevices: 1/1

Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

taufanlubis@toshiba:~$

May be, if I have time, I will fix the modem and post the solution. But not now, I don’t use it anyway. Dial up connection is too slow.

Well, finally after I fixed the problems, few devices which still not working are:

  • Function key

  • Multimedia buttons

  • Modem

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers